City & Guilds Level 3 TAQA inCertificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA 6317-33)

International Students

Looking for our International Website? Click on the link below to go there.

International Website

The TAQA Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA 6317-33) has been designed to train candidates in the theoretical and practical skills needed to support the assessment process. These qualifications were previously called the D Units or Assessor and Verifier Awards but are now known as the TAQA (Training, Assessor and Quality Assurance) Awards.

The CAVA qualification is intended for those who assess both occupational competence in the work environment and vocational skills, knowledge and understanding in a workshop, classroom or other training environments. This is an ‘in service’ award and candidates must have access to trainees (by job role or placement) in order to complete the process.

Course Content

  • Introduction to the award and the assessment requirements
  • How to plan for assessment
  • How to assess candidate's performance and knowledge against national standards
  • How to record and process assessment decisions
  • How to standardise assessment decisions
  • Observation of assessment and feedback skills in the workplace
  • Building a portfolio of evidence

The programme is flexible and includes a blend of tutorials, independent study, written work, gathering of evidence, observation of practice and portfolio building.


Unit 301: Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment
Unit 302: Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment
Unit 303: Assess Vocational Skills, Knowledge and Understanding


There are many areas in the skills sector where qualifications are gained by on-the-job assessment. Bricklaying, Hairdressing, Health and Social Care, Customer Service and apprenticeship programmes are all examples of areas where such assessment takes place. This means there is a need for trained staff to undertake the role of the assessor for these qualifications.

The certificate qualifies those who assess both occupational competence in the work environment and vocational skills, knowledge and understanding in a workshop, classroom or other training environments. This is a transferable qualification to any sector where the assessor can demonstrate occupational competence

Entry Requirements

Candidates for this qualification must:

  • Have access to an appropriate assessment centre
  • Have access to at least 2 candidates to be assessed
  • Have access to an assessor/mentor for countersigning
  • Have the potential to study at this level (A-level equivalent)
  • Have occupational competency in the qualification they are assessing

Progression Opportunities

Qualified practitioners who have at least one years’ experience in an assessor role (after certification) or equivalent assessment/moderation experience to meet quality assurance or auditable purposes can progress to the Level 4 Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice Award if a potential IQA role has been secured and all entry requirements have been fulfilled.


Whilst every effort is made to ensure that the information contained on this website is correct, the College accepts no liability for any errors or omissions. Please note that details are subject to change without notice with regard to the provision of courses, course times and dates and the fees and charges levied.

Find out more
at an Open Day

It's great to read about a college and what it has to offer but there's really no substitute for experiencing it at an Open Day.

At our Open Days, our expert staff are on hand to tell you about our courses and what careers they lead to.

They'll also guide you through our application process, explain the different kinds of support available, and talk to you about the huge variety of enrichment activities that you can be part of.

With opportunities to talk to our current students, as well as take part in tours of our campus and halls of residence, an Open Day really is the best way to get a feel for what it's like to be a Loughborough College student.

Find out more

Our next open day

Wednesday 29th April 2020 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Join us at an Open Day

Book your place at one of our Open Days

Next Open Day:

Wednesday 29th April 2020
4:00pm - 7:00pm

Key Facts

Mode of Attendance:

  • Part Time



Course Duration:

12 - 18 Months

Programme Costs:

  • The fees for this course are currently being confirmed.

Please contact Student Recruitment for more information.

College Course Code:

  • 19/20MPH0001
  • 20/21MPH0001

Awarding Body:

AQA / City and Guilds

My Shortlist

  • There are currently no courses in your shortlist - have a look around and if you find a course that interests you, add it to your shortlist